A Race To Reach Beyond {Team World Vision}

I pray all the time. I pray to ask and I pray thanks.  Everyday.

I pray by myself and we pray as a family.  Everyday.

Because yes! I want a good job for me and hubby, I want my kids in a good school, I want health, I want to create, I want to share, I want to run, I want it all.

At the same time many pray for food and clean water.  Everyday.

I pray to stay grounded, to be reminded.  How much we have. How privileged we are.  Everyday.

Because of Him we have so much.  Because of us, our sinful nature, others have so little.

Is so easy to get caught in selfishness.  To want it all for us. To make it all about us.  There is nothing wrong with having nice things, nothing wrong with being comfortable and eating good food.  But what are we doing beyond our home, our neighborhood, our city and the world?  How are we paying forward our blessings?  Are we?

For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love. For the whole law can be summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”  Galatians 5:13-14

What I really want?  I want to bring Him glory.  Everyday.

I read this post the other day and is so true!

“Sin isn’t only doing bad things. It’s turning good things, into ultimate things.” -Jason Johnson

I don’t want to be consumed by this earthly life, by pretty things, by the excitement of running.  I want to experience it all, or some, but I want to make sure I stay balanced, rooted and make nothing but a more Christ-centered life my ultimate want.

I pray for guidance.  For Him to help my heart see the ways to serve.  To share more than my recipes, pictures and thoughts.  To serve beyond than my neighborhood, my church.  To be as much of a go-giver as I am a go-getter.

And just when I was debating whether to run the Miami ING or not.   Just as an answer to prayers, I get to combine my love for running with my love & longing for serving Him.  We get to make a difference.  We get to reach beyond.

This year as we train for the ING Miami Marathon and Half-Marathon, Hubby and I are joining Team World Vision as team captains for our church.  Team World Vision is a ministry of World Vision International and the goal is to train for the race as a team and raise money through donations collected by each individual participant.  Fundraising through the South Florida ministry will go to World Vision’s clean water projects for Haiti.  Per their website, World Vision is a Christian relief, development and advocacy organisation dedicated to working with children, families and communities to overcome poverty and injustice; an international partnership of Christians whose mission is to follow our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ in working with the poor and oppressed to promote human transformation, seek justice and bear witness to the good news of the Kingdom of God.

You can visit my fundraising page HERE to make a donation and/or to join our team and race with us on January 27, 2013.  We are looking for newbies as well as experienced runners.  All you need is the willingness to make a difference in your life and the life of others, and to “run the race set before us”…

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12:1-2

2 responses to “A Race To Reach Beyond {Team World Vision}

  1. Beautiful post Adri. It’s so easy to become consumed by what we have and have not. In reality we have so much more than we NEED. It’s a difficult lesson to learn in a society that lives such a disposable life. I’m very excited for you and enjoy reading your blogs. Keep up the great work. God bless you and your family!

  2. Beautiful, beautiful post. This is so inspiring. Count your blessings, not your burdens – amen.

    You’re an amazing example and I’ll certainly be cheering you on the whole way!

Leave a Reply

