{Foodie Eats} WIAW & Quick Comfort Food Fix

My food diaries join Jen’s WIAW party.  Because some people don’t care about what I eat, some do, but a lot think salad is all I eat… Like she says: The good, the odd, and the “she ate WHAT!?” — it’s all here!

Ricotta cheese is sooo under-rated, on a whole wheat toast with honey and some fruit on the side.

20120912-090844.jpg

Starbucks-bought breakfast, that muffin was just ok, but I tried a new drink {a cheaper one too}: iced mocha coconut coffee with soy milk shaken with 2 brown sugar packets.  So good!

20120912-090905.jpg

Of course most days I’ll be doing this for breakfast and the new and improved IsaLean is here {more whey, more fiber and prebiotics, soy-free} Yes, too much soy is really not good for you, so for something I drink almost everyday I appreciate the soy-free part.

20120912-091010.jpg

So “guanabana” is the new addition to my protein shakes, my Latinos out there know what I am talking about, I really have not seen this fruit other than in a packet around here, but I am so fortunate to be able to pick up these frozen fruit pulps in the frozen section of my Publix, will be experimenting with more soon.  But right now I am stuck with this one, is kind of sweet and sour at the same time and oh so yummy! I use 1/4 of the package, 4 oz unsweetened almond vanilla milk, 6 oz water, 2 scoops IsaLean vanilla.

20120912-091021.jpg

Jen  is always posting these, and I finally gave it a try.  Sweet potato {microwaved}, black beans w sazon latino, sour cream, hot sauce and cheese.  Can I say hubby vacuumed this thing?

20120912-091046.jpg

A worldly combination in my plate Moroccan Carrot Salad and Japanese veggie gyozas I picked up at the Fresh Market.

20120912-091102.jpg

Breakfast at Panera, free pastry with rewards card so I had to.  Of course, let the pumpkin Fall fest begin with this muffin.

20120912-091113.jpg

Went to the Redlands Farmers Market on Saturday to get some produce and this pork was calling our name.

Yep, tacos al pastor.

20120912-091200.jpg

AND tortas al pastor with fresh squeezed lemonade bucket.

20120912-091216.jpg

A quick outdoor veggie lunch: mixed greens, tomato/mozzarella/pesto, garlicky mushrooms.

20120912-091312.jpg

And for dessert: caramelized pears with vanilla ice cream.

Because sometimes all I need is a bowl cereal, I combine 1/2 cup coconut milk & 1/2 cup unsweetened almond vanilla milk, good ole’ Fiber One and bananas.

20120912-091323.jpg

And sometimes a comfort food fix…

Creamy chicken and broccoli {this makes a lot, so you can cut recipe in half}

In a skillet on med heat cook 1 1/2 lbs chopped chicken breasts and 1 package frozen broccoli for about 5 mins, season with some salt and pepper, and add 2 cans fat free cream of chicken and 1/2 cup sour cream, let it boil and simmer for about 10 mins until chicken is cooked.  I served with Barilla Plus pasta and parmesan cheese.

Yes! I eat it all, in moderation and with a content heart.

6 responses to “{Foodie Eats} WIAW & Quick Comfort Food Fix

Leave a Reply

