Cucumber Mint Tabouleh {Recipe}

For some reason I have always been a little intimated with making Tabouleh, but I am also very particular as to how I like it.  I love parsley but don’t like it when it overpowers the grain.  But then again, it can be too grainy sometimes, I had seen over the internet where they would add cucumber and thought it was a perfect addition to give it a more diverse texture.  So I finally gave it a try and the result was a success, you have got to make this salad this summer {so refreshing!} and enjoy with a nice BBQ, maybe a Middle Eastern inspired one. 

Gather it:

4 cups of cooked bulghur wheat {or use quinoa}

2 cups of chopped parsley

1/2 cup chopped mint

2 cucumbers, peeled and diced

4 tomatoes, seeded and diced

4 green onions, sliced

4 garlic clovers, chopped

Juice of 2 limes and 2 lemons {or to taste}

1/2 cup olive oil {or to taste}

Salt to taste

Prep it:

As simple as cooking bulgur wheat per package instructions and mixing all ingredients together.

Details:

I found the bulghur wheat at a Middle Eastern market, but some supermarkets carry it in either the grains section or the international food aisles.

Per instructions, I washed it in a bowl changing water a couple of times and then added boiling water and covered for about 30 minutes.

Chopped the parsley with my new scissors, which I love!

Prepped the veggies.

And mixed it all together. I used 2 limes and 2 lemons to season, but I like more on the sour side so this can be adjusted to taste.

Enjoy it!

3 responses to “Cucumber Mint Tabouleh {Recipe}

Leave a Reply

