Going on a Streak & a Winner

I confess. Ever since my Miami ING Half, the injury, the month off; my training has been lacking big time.  I hardly run on weekdays these days and the weekend long runs, have just not been very long.  Well, this is how it all starts, you miss a run here, miss a run there and the rest is history, there goes your training, your endurance, your speed.  It can take you months to build it up and just days to lose it exponentially. 

I confess.  Way to many times I have underestimated the power of just fitting in at least a few miles during the week.  Of thinking if I can’t fit in a minimum of 3 miles, then it is not even worthy.  I could not be more wrong.  E V E R Y mile counts. 

That’s why when I saw RW Summer Running Streak 2012 floating around Twitter and finally clicked to find out more about it, I was all in for the idea.  So what is it?  Run at least one mile per day, every day, starting on Memorial Day (Monday, 5/28) and ending on Independence Day (Wednesday, 7/4). That’s 38 consecutive days of running.

It’s perfect for this time a year, when all sort of distractions sorround us.  It’s perfect for me to help me get back on track and ready for training season starting in August.  It’s the perfect little challenge I am needing, as I figure out how to avoid our killer heat and humidity {or deal with it} as best possible.  I AM ALL IN! And I am not alone, the ladies from our running group are feeling pretty inspired too, as our 6 mile run at 6:45 am this morning can serve to prove. 

There are  also plenty of participants all over the Country.  Want to follow? Want to join? Let me know and let the world know by using the hashtag #RWRunStreak on Twitter.

One more thing before my very much needed rest… The winner of the Bondiband giveaway is

Kalli from Fit and Forty Something! Her and her hubby are amazing athletes, I absolutely adore her and her amazing salads.  Congrats girly!  Email me your choice and mailing address.

8 responses to “Going on a Streak & a Winner

  1. Isn’t it crazy how 3 miles becomes a really short distance???? I remember when three laps was a long distance! But you are right, every mile is a worthy mile and good luck with the run streak! Having so many people participating and all of the support on Twitter will make it that much more fun =)

  2. Pingback: Streak. Eat Sancocho. Recover. « Foodie Be Fit·

Leave a Reply

