{My Everyday} These R The Things

A weekly update on mostly food, fitness, fashion and family… This is…

The tree I am in love with.  And is my view every morning right before I get into the office, wish I could just stare at it all day instead, but I guess that wouldn’t be very productive.

The current fave lunch spot.  Ate there twice last week.  LAN Asian Pan Bistro at Dadeland Station.

1st round: cucumber roll, salad with an amazing dressing and vegetable noodles.

2nd Round: Korean BBQ rice bowl is sooo good.

What I finally got around to do.  A little late to the party, but I finally made protein overnight oats my way. 

My pre-race fuel.  Not exactly by the book fuel, but oh well.  Raw meat is better than cooked.  Lentils are a good protein/carb balance. Wine… well, lots of antioxidants.

20120517-182438.jpg

20120517-182459.jpg

How we really feel after racing.  Like THE CHAMPIONS! Ha!

20120517-182531.jpg

My post race fuel {part 1}.  A Latin breakfast courtesy of my dear cousin.  Huevos Perico: scrambled eggs with onions and tomatoes, arepas: cornmeal patties, chorizo, ham and cheese.  Yum!

20120517-182540.jpg

My post race fuel {part 2}.  Cookout with Vero to celebrate.  And a celebrations calls for wine and food!

20120517-182615.jpg

She made a mean tuna ceviche.

20120517-182635.jpg

My first time pairing tuna ceviche with watermelon.  It was good!!

20120517-182648.jpg

Cheers! FFFs {Foodie Friends Forever} Yeah, I am just cheesy like that.

20120517-182656.jpg

For dessert we dipped cookies in this amazing vanilla bean caramel that I got inside my Food With Love box this month. 

It’s made of goat milk and is so fregin good.

20120517-182709.jpg

The things that made Mother’s Day Amazing.  Flowers, cuddling, getting help in the kitchen, hubby’s requested and thoughtful presents, making pancakes in my new griddle, party of 4 brunch no wait.

My current tea time choice.  This is so good, no sweeteners required and no problem using the bag twice. 

20120517-182901.jpg

Yet another International food.  On my menu this week.  Peruvian ceviche from El Chalan in 40 St. 

20120517-183033.jpg

The new outfit I can’t wait to sport.  Skirt and top from Target.  Steve Madden wedges.  Necklace from Mexico.

Tell me what are your things? What’s your favorite not-so-common food pairing? What do you treat yourself to after a race?

6 responses to “{My Everyday} These R The Things

    • Like I said, it wasn’t quite by the books. hehe. But here are my 2 cents on raw meat: When meat (and food in general) is cooked natural occurring enzymes are destroyed. Enzymes greatly aid with digestion thru a process called autolytic digestion. When the body lacks these enzymes, it works harder to digest wasting more energy. Also, heat denatures protein, but that’s a whole other chemical lesson. I mean, there is still a debate out there whether or not raw meat is easier to digest than cooked. But I do feel it sits better on me and the benefits of raw food are many. I should really do a post on this.
      I did have a great mother’s day. Thanks!!

      • Thanks for the info on raw meat. It was enlightening but I don’t think it’s something I’ll be trying on my own any time soon! =) Medium rare is about as uncooked as I go. Heh

  1. OMG on the raw meat…..or rather ground raw meat! Thats big in Chile. I can do carpaccios easily, especially lamb carpaccios (hows next weekend sound, YUM). Where’s the meat from? Glad you enjoyed the Watermelon Tuna Cevechi and not a word on those pesky anchovies! hahaha, until our next foodie & wine night Cheers back and FFF fo shizzle!

    PS. I look forward to finding my magnum & blue steel look too 😉

  2. Wine or beer after a race is a must, so I fully support this!

    There are honestly too many things I like about this post! The sushi, the wine, the RACE! You’re always doing something fantastic – I love it!

    Steve Madden Makes the best shoes and I’m now off to Target for that skirt – you rock.

Leave a Reply

