11th Annual Lou Gehrig’s Disease 10K & 5K Run/Walk

This past Saturday, Vero, hubby and I participated in the 11th Annual Lou Gehrig’s Disease 10K Run in Coconut Grove.

I went in knowing that my training has not really been the best, didn’t go to bed early and had wine the night before.  And I was still thinking to break my current 10K PR of 55 minutes, which happened when I started running last year and at the time was logging in about 15-20 miles a week.  These days I am logging in about 6-8.  Can you say slacker? Can you say dreamer? Yeah, that’s me.

Ok, so I started with a pretty good sub 9-minute mile pace and actually completed my first two miles right under 9 as I hung around the 54 minute pacer.  Pretty fast pace for me, but I have a tendency to start races fast and then slow down the pace.  My theory is I am going to slow down either way so I might as well make up some time while I still have energy.  But in this case, I reaaaally slowed down. Mile 3 was in the high 9s and then it was all down hill from there.  At the turnaround I felt kind of relieved that it was already halfway over, I just had to speed it up just a bit.  Or not.  The heat was brutal and I literally felt like I could not breathe.  The course had a lot of shade thanks to the beautiful Coconut Grove trees, but the beaming sun could still make its way thru them and I was feeling it.  Then of course the mind started playing tricks: ” Am I really going to have to walk it out?”

As my minded wanted to continue to wonder, I reminded myself why I was there: I am here to support a cause, to enjoy, to live, to be fit, to share and learn.  I really cannot forget why I run, and can never let my competitive side dominate, that is not why I am here, that is not why I run.

In the middle of mile 4 I made my water stop and walked a few seconds as I sipped some water.  That felt pretty good.  The water and the mental reminder.  Refreshed, I we proceeded to cross the finish line with a time of 1:00:55.

For the race hubby decided to hang around with me, yeah he is a way faster runner and this could have easily been a 45 minute race for him. He hasn’t been training as hard either so it really wasn’t thaaat much of sacrifice, but this is probably the first time we run together for more than 30 minutes.  I usually race by myself at my own pace, having hubby there was a little stressful as I knew how much he was holding back.  But I really liked having him there next to me, to give me “that” look and to remind me to never stop running.

I am feeling so proud of Vero.  I am telling you people, this girl suffers from asthma and allergies non-stop, she had never exercise a day in her life, she is a single mom and just 3 months later here she is running a 10K in 1:05.  What’s your excuse? No excuses! Get fit and dasit!

 

10 responses to “11th Annual Lou Gehrig’s Disease 10K & 5K Run/Walk

  1. Awesome post! I know a guy with Lou Gehrig’s disease and it’s pretty rough. Just enjoy reading an inspiring running story! You’re right though.. NO EXCUSE! get out there and run! 🙂

  2. Adriana! You did AMAZING!!!! I wish I could have been there to cheer you up!!!! And sooo cool for your friend too! She must be feeling like a RockStar!!! And She is!!! Kouddos to her!

  3. Pingback: Thursday {5/17/12} These R The Things « Foodie Be Fit·

Leave a Reply

