{Cinco de Mayo} Favorites

Hey there! Happy Thursday, little Friday is almost over and I am ready for the weekend.  Is not often that we get to celebrate Cinco de Mayo on a Saturday.  Are you ready for the Fiesta? Well, let me help you get in the Mexican spirit.

So a lot of people confuse Cinco de Mayo with being the Mexican independence day… Thank God Wiki is here to clarify:  it is the commemoration of the Mexican army’s unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862, under the leadership of General Ignacio Zaragoza Seguín. 

And yes, it is greatly more celebrated {and marketed} in the US than in Mexico.

As you might know, I am a huge Mexican fan, mainly of their food {remember this post? }.  I am of Venezuelan descent, but with my mom and cousins living over there. I have nothing but love for such a great Country that has adopted part of my family.  Really admire their very authentic and interesting culture.

So let’s get this {earlier} party started, shall we?

Best Mexican Cooking Blog Turned Cookbook. I have been a fan of these ladies’ Muy Bueno blog since I started reading blogs and they are the perfect blog success story.  Their cookbook, featuring authentic Mexican cuisine is ready for pre-order at Amazon.  I could not be happier for their accomplishment and cannot wait to get my copy!

Margaritas Country Style. These Margaritas In A Jar = Jagaritas are just genius and they look so super cute! 

Fave Tacos Makeover.  My all time favorite tacos are tacos Al Pastor.  The real meat for these tacos is cook in a stick like the Shawarma meat, making it almost impossible to make at home… Enter the Hamburguers Al Pastor.  Oh yeah! Is all about the pineapple and cilantro.  Can’t wait to try these!

{Willing To Try} Veggie Tacos.  Like I said, I like my tacos traditional with “Carne Al Pastor”, but wouldn’t mind giving these vegetarian Fried Avocado Tacos a try.

Favorite Hot Sauce.  La Valentina.  If I could put this sauce on my yogurt with granola I would.  Is that good!  Is sort of like a buffalo sauce but better.  Not taking a chance on the yogurt and granola thing yet, but I do love it on potato chips and crunchy veggies with lime.  Snack time!

Mexican Cupcakes. Official name: Mexican Hot Cocoa with Hidden Dulce De Leche and Chile Kissed Cream.  Need I say more?

Cookies!  Cupcakes and cookies my total weakness.  These traditional Mexican wedding cookies are sooo good, almond based and just the right amount of sweet.

More Cookies! How adorable are these? I think the kids would very much enjoy these Piñata Cookies.

Is It A Fiesta Or A Wedding?  And talking about weddings.  How adorable is this idea of a very Mexican wedding? Me encanta!

You Are Totally Missing Out.  If you haven’t had an “Elote” {corn on the cob} Mexican style.

One Of My Best Mexican Experience.  Has got to be our visit to El Mercado De La Merced in Mexico City.  I can’t even explain to you how big this place is.  How real, the smells, the sights.  I really need to do a post on it.

My Mexican Home Decor.  Always been obsessed with Mexican artsy hearts.  Finally got me some at the craft market and put them up at the house.

My Dream Mexican Home Decor.  I want Mexican tiles in my house so bad.  Kitchen would do.

Soap I Would Never UseDia de los Muertos designer soap. They are just too pretty.

How I Like My {Mexican} Beer.  I am not a huge beer drinker, but there is nothing like A Michelada. I usually skip the tomato juice and Maggie sauce.  Just rim glass with salt & chile, lime, ice and beer.  Salud!

Bring The {Mexican} Wine.  Yes I always get the snob stare when I mention the Mexican wine, but I can tell you are really good ones out there.  I had the Casa Madero Cabernet Sauvignon I went to Cancun and it was reaaally good.

Did I say Mexican enough times? Ok good. Now, bring on the tequila and the micheladas! And the wine! Please party responsibly 🙂

What are your plans for Cinco?

4 responses to “{Cinco de Mayo} Favorites

  1. Thanks for sharing our cookbook on your post! All the food on this post is making me salivate! YUM. Especially those Hamburguers Al Pastor. Oh my 😉
    Feliz Cinco de Mayo amiga!

  2. Yum! Mexican food is a personal obsession of mine, so I’m loving this post! It’s so funny that Cinco de Mayo is celebrated more in the U.S. than Mexico, I had no idea that was the case. Thanks for the visit to my blog, I can’t wait to check out the rest of yours!

Leave a Reply

