FICPA 1040K 5K Review {New PR}

The FICPA (Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants) helps people interested in becoming CPAs with financial burdens to complete their certification.

This event has proven to have tremendous local  support and has become a great experience for families and co-workers to get  together for fun and exercise while contributing to a very worthwhile  scholarship fund.  It is important to  continue this great support as we begin to take this race in a new direction so  that we continue to raise significant funds for scholarship recipients.

20120422-231255.jpg

On its 23rd year, we joined this race with a couple who are also parents and really good friends, she has been with the running group since the beginning and has never missed any of our Saturday morning runs.  She did awesome with a time of  30:31. Did I mention this was her first race ever? And did I mention she has 3 kids ranging from 5 to 1 years old? Yeah, so what is your excuse? 

Ok, back to the race, which added two three for the books:

  1. First time running in the rain.
  2. New PR for a 5K.
  3. First time I place so high.

Did I mention it was pouring?

20120422-231308.jpg

Click For Source

Yes, given the fact that not that many people showed up, therefore I placed 4th out of 21 on my age group. But my time {and new PR} of  27:47 is a good indication that I really didn’t hate running in the rain that much, I really thought I was going to be more uncomfortable, it wasn’t that bad, worst feeling was running against the rain and getting water in my eyes. And of course my Nike Frees did not let me down at all, they did not hold water at all, pretty much stayed light on my feet the whole time and dried up perfectly fine after.

Can’t really do a throughly review because obviously things didn’t really go as plans and adjustments had to be made due to the weather.  Still, everything was very organized and food provisions were provided accordingly.  The beer was also there, and is the first time I have seen Heineken tall beer cans given out which was nice, but there were a little warm and there wasn’t really enough covered space to hang out, so we chugged our warm beers and rode out.

Weather also messed up my photographic arrangements, but could not leave without a little shot for posterity.

3 responses to “FICPA 1040K 5K Review {New PR}

  1. This looks like it was a ton of fun! I looked at the shirt and it said it was in the keys right? I need to make it to a race down in SoFla! I would think running down there would be breathtakingly beautiful!

    • Is not really the Keys down South it was Key Biscayne which is right next to downtown. It is still breakthankingly beautiful indeed… Too bad everything was gray Saturday morning, still made the best out of it.

  2. Pingback: Weekend Quicks & Pics {A Birthday Party} « Foodie Be Fit·

Leave a Reply

