Improv Pesto {Baby Greens, Almonds, Sun-dried Tomatoes}

I have never made “real” pesto before, it’s one of those foods of which there are pretty good options of at the store, so I had saved my energy for other things.  Until I realized how handy it is for using up your raw leafy greens before they go bad.  This was my improvised pesto and I am happy to report it was a huge success 🙂

Gather it:

  • About 2 handful bunches of baby pea greens {or similar leafy green}
  • Jarred sun-dried tomatoes {I used about 1/2 jar}
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

 Prep it:

Mix all ingredients in food processor and pulse, pulse, pulse…

20120312-005537.jpg

Made some Soba noodles and mixed them together…

20120312-005547.jpg

By the way, in case you have not heard about Soba noodles and why they are better, read about the Health Benefits of Soba here. 

Serve it:

With some grated parmesan cheese…

20120312-005610.jpg

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Improv Pesto {Baby Greens, Almonds, Sun-dried Tomatoes}

  1. I love homemade pesto and it’s pretty simple. For a while I had my own basil plant and was making it quite often, then I forgot to water it for a while, so it didn’t make it =( (I’m really bad with any sort of plant.) I’m going to have to try out the soba noodels though – looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

