Lentils with kale and butternut squash

Was sort of cleaning the fridge with this recipe.  I was also inspired by Run Inspired’s Post: Eating for Healing to pull out my turmeric {and possibly empty it out} as I hope to recover from my injury in time for race day.  I mean, I am not sure how much my palm full of turmeric will do as a anti inflamatory, but these days I am trying everything.

  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 10-12 pearl onions, quartered
  • 6 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 bunch of black kale, sliced
  • 10 oz bag of frozen butternut squash
  • 2 cups lentils
  • vegetable broth for cooking lentils
  • turmeric, coriander and sweet paprika

On cooking pot, heat about 2 tbsp of olive oil, sautée the garlic, onions, celery and carrots for about 5 mins.  Add lentils and vegetable stock, add water as required to cook lentils and cover.  When halfway cooked add a palm full of the turmeric, coriander, sweet paprika and salt.  When lentils are cooked and making sure there is still liquid on pot, add the kale and butternut squash, cover and cook on medium heat for about 10 more mins.

 

4 responses to “Lentils with kale and butternut squash

  1. This looks amazing!!! Please let me know if you notice any changes over time with the turmeric – I’m really curious. I want to throw this out there too – I tried Vega Whole Food Health Optimizer this morning in my smoothie and in looking at the ingredients, it is nothing short of pure superfood. It has some great anti-inflammatory nutrients (and it was perfect the perfect remedy for my “one too many glasses of wine” from the night before). I’ve only bought the sample pack from Whole Foods but it might be something worth trying as well.

    I wish you a very speedy recovery and I think I might give this recipe a try this week =)

    Happy Monday!
    Tracie

    • Thanks Tracie! I have seen the Vega products, and have been curious to try, specially the new gels; but I use Isagenix shakes which are similar meal replacements, also packed with superfoods and organic new zealand whey protein {and between us: they are cheaper}. If you ever want to try a nutritional cleanse or any of their products let me know 😉 Yes, I will be uping my dosages of every supplement, vitamin, etc. on the book, so probably won’t be able to tell if it was in fact the turmeric that work… haha!

  2. Pingback: WIAW | Foodie Be Fit·

Leave a Reply

