Quinoa Mediterranean Salad

So I finally got around to cooking something with Quinoa 🙂 After reading an article about quinoa some time ago (You can read about this superfood here: http://www.quinoabenefits.net/) I’ve been wanting to give it a try, but truth is I was a little intimidated…

So the other day (won’t really say how long ago) I bought me so Quinoa and figure I would find something to do with it sooner or later… well, more later than sooner, on a lazy Sunday afternoon I had a craving for my mom’s couscous salad, and then AHA! it came to me… instead of making it with couscous I would make it with quinoa as they have a very similar feel, but of course Quinoa is so much more nutritional… So with a few modifications to my mom’s recipe, here is my take on a Quinoa Mediterranean Salad:

(I use mostly organic ingredients and recommend you do the same but feel free to use conventional ingredients)

•3 cups of cooked quinoa (cooked per package instructions)

•1 can of small white beans

•1/3 cup of sliced green olives

•1/3 cup of sliced black olives

•1/2 cup of feta cheese

•1/2 cup of julienne cut sundried tomatoes in oil

•3 green onions

•1 lime

•1/4 cup of olive oil

•Salt and pepper to taste

•Cilantro to taste (some people find cilantro too strong, feel free to use parsley instead)

Rinse and drain white beans.  Cook quinoa and let cool down.  Chop the sundried tomatoes.  With scissors cut the green onions starting at the bottom (white part), include some of the green and stop when it becomes leafy.  Mix all ingredients, squeeze lemon on salad and season to taste…

That’s it, healthy & easy… and guess what I’ll be packing for lunch tomorrow? Yes! Some Quinoa salad, 2 slices of sprouted bread and 2 organic american cheese slices (60 cal. each) for a quick and healthy grilled cheese sandwich to go with it… Enjoy!

Leave a comment